About Us

The Patriarchate of Bunyoro – Kitara Kingdom is an autocephalous Christian Byzantine Rite Apostolic Sacramental Church exercising jurisdiction over Byzantine Rite Christians worldwide who identify with its mission and are specifically and especially dedicated to the holistic advancement and uplift of the Banyoro people and Bunyoro – Kitara Kingdom, within the framework of this unique omophor (jurisdiction/facet) of the One Undivided Mystical Body of Christ.

On 30 November 2018, the Feast-Day of Saint Andrew the First-Called, the Cherubic Cathedra (Patriarchal Throne) of the Patriarchate of Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom was formally established at the request, instigation, and command of His Majesty, Rukirabasaija Agutamba Solomon Gafabusa Iguru I,  the Omukama of Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom.   His Majesty had previously requested that four Metropolitans (Apostolic Bishops) select one from among their number to be elected to lead an Apostolic Church which would be dedicated to the mission of compassion that Our Master and Illuminator, Jesus Christ, commands us to undertake, on behalf of the Banyoro people and Bunyoro – Kitara Kingdom specifically; the four Metropolitans and five Vicedomini, as well as members of the ecclesiastical and chivalric order of merit, the Order of Saint Moses the Black, participated in what may be characterized as the first Sobor of the Holy Synod, as well as the election of the Patriarch.

The Chief High Priest and the Master and Illuminator of the Patriarchate of Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom is Our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

The Royal Protector of the Patriarchate of Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom and of the Altars of Our Master and Illuminator is His Majesty, Rukirabasaija Agutamba Solomon Gafabusa Iguru I, the 49th Omukama of Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom.

The Office of the Abuna, Catholicos, and Patriarch of Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom is currently held by His (Holiness) Beatitude, (Mor) Cherubim Abu-Seifein Akiiki.   Mor Cherubim Abu-Seifein Akiiki as the President of the Holy Synod is considered the first among equals of the Metropolitans.

The Holy Synod is an ecclesiastical vehicle consisting of the Walisema (the mitred, that is the four Metropolitans, which includes the Patriarch, who is primus inter pares), the Mafuta (the anointed, which are the Presbyters and the deacons) and the Wapanda Farasi (the horsemen, which are the vicedomini and knights) who are members of the appendant chivalric orders of the Patriarchate.  The Holy Synod shall convene once per year.  The Holy Synod of the Patriarchate of  Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom is registered and recognized with the Royal Office of Orders, Honors and Awards Affairs of Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom and is, as stated above, under the Royal Protection, of His Majesty, Rukirabasaija Agutamba Solomon Gafabusa Iguru I,  the 49th Omukama of Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom.

Geographically, the Patriarchate is divided into Metropolitanates and Eparchies, each directed by a bishop (Metropolitan) who is considered to be a successor to the Apostles in the service and government of the Patriarchate.  The bishops thus serve εις τόπον και τύπον Χριστού (Greek: is topon ke typon Christou, “in place and as a type of Christ”) in the Church.

No member bishop in The Holy Synod of the Patriarchate of  Bunyoro – Kitara Kingdom is considered infallible. None has any authority over or apart from his priests, laity, or the other bishops.  Bishops have the responsibility of maintaining the unity of the Patriarchate throughout the world by ensuring the truth and unity of the faith and practice of their Metropolitanate and Eparchies.  The bishops represent their particular Eparchy/Metropolitanate to the other churches or dioceses and represent the Patriarchate to their own particular priests, deacons, and laity.

Below the metropolitans/bishops in the hierarchy of the Church are the presbyters and deacons who are also referred to as priests and deacons/clerics.   Priests and deacons usually administer a temple or chapel by the authority and with the blessing of their respective bishops.

The priests bless all of the divine services conducted in their temples and are authorized to celebrate all of the mysteries (sacraments) of the Church, with the exception of ordination, which is reserved to the bishop, only by the leave of the Patriarch.

error: Content is protected !!